Community Gathering Promotes Environmental Stewardship

Join us for the Invasive Species and Wetlands Committee Environmental Stewardship Event on July 20 from 9 a.m. to noon, aimed at fostering environmental stewardship and education among residents. The event will kick off with a short presentation by Ryan Wilemski and his strike team, who will delve into various aspects of environmental stewardship and share the significance of preserving our natural resources. Attendees will have the opportunity to engage in discussions about practical steps individuals can take to help control invasive species in the area. “It’s great to see so many township residents excited for this event," said Trustee Cy Balk, Committee Chair. “I’m excited for what the group can accomplish.”

Participants will then have the chance to join different groups tailored to their interests and expertise. Some groups will focus on identifying and addressing invasive plant species, while others will lead nature hikes to explore and appreciate the native flora and fauna of the region. "It's going to be a great time!" exclaimed Marnie TenCate, Volunteer of the Year for The Kent Conservation District and committee member. “The Strike Team does an awesome job educating and giving practical tips to help slow the spread of invasive species.” The event is family-friendly, and all are welcome to join in the activities. Residents are urged to mark their calendars for this event, which promises to be a valuable opportunity for learning and collaboration in the pursuit of a more sustainable future.

Event Details:
Date: Saturday, July 20th
Time: 9 a.m. to noon
Location: Cannon Township Offices, 6878 Belding Rd NE, Rockford, MI (Meet by the pavilion at the Fire Truck Park, just south of the brown building)
What to Bring and Wear:
Positive attitude
Reusable water bottle
Dress for the weather
Gloves (provided, but feel free to bring your own)
Hand saw, if you have one Please RSVP at

The Invasive Species and Wetlands Committee of Cannon Township is led by Trustee Cy Balk. Members of the committee include Marnie TenCate, Robert Johnston, Allison Martin, Amy Werner, Barbara Dillon, Gena Rinckey, Jacob Lemon, Kaldis Grants, Lloyd Steffensen, M. Schaap, Meg Hackett, Phyllis Gendler, Raymond Gates, Richard E. Zambon, Jessica Gutowski-Slaydon, and John Vrieling. We’d love to have you join us! Unable to make it to this event? Please save the dates for future gatherings on October 5th and November 9th. For more information, please contact